African NewsSportsZambia News

CAF Awards: Mohamed Salah, Edouard Mendy, and Sadio Mane are contenders for male player of the year.

BBC- After the organizers narrowed down their shortlists for the men’s and women’s categories, Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala had a chance to retain their Confederation of African Football (Caf) Player of the Year titles.

Mane will face Egypt’s Mohamed Salah and his fellow countryman Edouard Mendy of Chelsea. Mane was the last person to be named Africa’s finest player in 2019.

From the 10-person list that was made public more than a week ago, Riyad Mahrez, Naby Keita, Vincent Aboubakar, Karl Toko Ekambi, Achraf Hakimi, Sebastien Haller, and Kalidou Koulibaly have all been left off.

Ajara Nchout Njoya of Cameroon, Zambia’s Grace Chanda, and Oshoala, the most decorated female footballer in Africa, made up the final three on the women’s shortlist.

Three years ago, Oshoala from Barcelona was awarded Africa’s finest female player. Since then, the awards have been suspended due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The final lists for various male and female categories, including Coach, Young Player, Interclub Player, Club, National team, and Goal of the Year honours, have also been released by Caf, the organisation that governs football in Africa.

With the exception of the women’s national team of the year award, which will be announced following the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations final on Saturday, all winners will be announced on Thursday.


Caf Awards nominees for 2022


Player of the Year (women): Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt), Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Inter Milan) and Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona).

Player of the Year (men): Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich), Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool).

Interclub Player of the Year (women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes), Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns), Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns).

Interclub Player of the Year (men): Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly), Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly).

Young Player of the Year (women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes), Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies), Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne).

Young Player of the Year (men): Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg), Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur), Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United).

Coach of the Year (women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa), Bruce Mwape (Zambia), Reynald Pedros (Morocco), Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Coach of the Year (men): Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Carlos Queiroz (Egypt), Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club).

Club of the Year (women): AS FAR (Morocco), Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa).

Club of the Year (men): Al Ahly (Egypt), RS Berkane (Morocco), Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco).

National Team of the Year (men): Cameroon, Egypt, Senegal.

Goal of the Year: Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates), Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba).

Back to top button