Home Politics Mwansabombwe and Lukashya have voted in the by-elections

Mwansabombwe and Lukashya have voted in the by-elections

Mwansabombwe and Lukashya have voted in the by-elections

After weeks of political hype in Mwansabombwe and Lukashya Constituencies in Luapula and Northern Provinces, respectively, today is the voting day in the by-elections.

There is uncompromising State security in both constituencies for a peaceful vote.

There are also 12 ward by-elections being held today in North-Western, Lusaka and Copperbelt Provinces.

The Mwansabombwe and Lukashya seats fell vacant after the deaths of PF’s Rodgers Mwewa and independent Mwenya Munkonge, respectively, all on July 18, 2020.

In the campaigns, the stakes have been high, especially for the UPND and the PF. Mwansabombwe and Lukashya have voted in the by-elections

But other political parties, nascent and ‘forgotten’ ones, also fielded candidates in the two countryside constituencies.

In Mwansabombwe, the dummy members of parliament on the ballot paper are Jackson Mwanza for the Leadership Movement (LM), UPND’s Sunday Maluba, Josephine Chama for the United Prosperous and Peaceful Zambia (UPPZ), PF’s Kabaso Kampampi and Victor Musangu of the National Restoration Party (NAREP).

On the other side in Lukashya, Brown Sinyangwe is contesting on the Leadership Movement ticket, the UPPZ has Samuel Kabungo and the People’s Alliance for Change (PAC) has Michael Chimponda.

Others are PF’s George Chisanga, UPND’s Davies Mulenga and Christopher Kabwe, the MMD candidate.

Expectedly, there will be only one winner in each case and so far, polling stations are open – from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours.

According to the Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) 2016 register of voters, which is still very applicable in these by-elections, Mwansabombwe has a total number of 25, 251 registered voters while Lukashya has 55, 188.

It’s not cold and there are no rains; so there isn’t a compelling reason, known to #Kalemba, for any voter apathy.

The winner, in either constituencies, should bag a good thousands of votes – for those huge PF and UPND campaign rallies to literally make sense to a distant political observer.

However, whoever wins will only be a lawmaker for eight months, as Parliament will dissolve in May next year.

Nonetheless, voting is underway in the two constituencies and in 12 ward by-elections.

The wards are Mushingashi, Kansanda, Luswishi, Milopa, Chibanga (all in Lufwanyama), Kasonga (Mpongwe), Lunyiwe (Kabompo), Mandombe (Luangwa), Kashima East, Kalengwa (all in Mufumbwe), Mwininyilamba (Ikeleng’i) and Kanzenzi (Mwinilunga).