Mzansi Celebs

Distruction Boyz go their separate ways

Well-known Gqom group Distruction Boyz is going its separate ways. The group, made up of Thobani “Que” Mgobhozi and Zipho “Goldmax” Mthembu, shared the news on social media on Friday, 3 February.

The two also thanked their fans for their love and support over the years, adding that the reason for the split was so they could focus on their solo careers.

“Members of the Gqom community, thank you for supporting us over the years. Allow us to take a break from being the ‘Distruction Boyz’ duo you all love so that we can concentrate on our solo careers for a bit,” read the post.

Distruction Boyz

The Omunye hitmakers said their last performance together would be at the late Riky Ricky’s Cotton Festival on Saturday, 4 February.

“Join us tomorrow for our last set together @cottonfestjh for now. We’ll be back together again soon! Siyabonga.”

Some fans were not happy about the news while others celebrated the duo for taking their solo careers.

Distruction boyz

Melisiwe said she could not accept this as they must give them an album before splitting up.

Soulstic commented: “Onwards and upwards gents! We are rooting for you @goldmax_distructionboyz @realquedj. We can’t wait for your return.”

Malcom added: “Solo careers have destroyed a lot of groups. Why not do both and get the bag?”

Faku wrote: “We will be waiting for the return of Distruction Boyz. All the best in your solo careers; we will be supporting and booking you guys. Hopefully we might get a back-to-back DJ set while we wait for the return.”


In other news – Big disappointment in Dineo Ranaka’s party on the ship

Dineo Ranaka’s party ship turned into a nightmare for people who paid handsomely to be a part of the cruise. The radio personality hosted a ship cruise from Durban to the Portuguese Island, but many were left disappointed as the ship didn’t get to the island.

Dineo Ranaka

The “Cruise With Dineo & Friends”, which started at the MSC New Durban Harbour on 27 January was scheduled to return on 30 January. Learn More

Back to top button